top of page

Ana & Adeline Foundation Announces $55,225 in Artist Scholarships to YAYA Alumni

Scholarships totaling $55,225 are awarded to 7 visual artists and designers.

Ana & Adeline Foundation supports the emerging YAYA visual artist community with resources for advancing their careers and creative practice. YAYA is a working studio and youth arts center in New Orleans that was founded in 1988 by artist Jana Napoli. For more than three decades, YAYA has worked to empower creative young people through educational and entrepreneurial experiences in the visual arts. Seeing the value of investing in the long-term trajectory of artists, Napoli established the Ana & Adeline Foundation in 2011 to complement the YAYA program by supporting its alumni into their adult lives. The Foundation awards grants and scholarships to individual visual artists who represent a range in age and stage of their lives - from college students to emerging artists and creative business owners. Ana & Adeline Foundation also makes grants to YAYA for projects that engage their teen and young adult artists with national and international visual arts and design communities.

Ana & Adeline Foundation makes scholarships to YAYA alumni pursuing degrees in visual arts and design or studies that support leadership in those disciplines. Ana & Adeline Foundation is particularly dedicated to supporting first-generation college students and artists of color. Scholarships are up to $10,000 annually and artists may apply for 5 consecutive years or until they earn their degree, whichever comes first. Scholars may also use awards for continuing education, intensive workshops, and nontraditional institutions such as General Assembly.


The complete list of the 2021-2022 scholars are:

Jeremiah Brown Tulane University School of Professional Advancement, BA Graphic Design

Gerard Caliste New York School of Art, Minor Summer Intensive Program

David Garcia Patiño Drexel University, BA Fashion Design

Ian Jackson Fashion Institute of Technology, BA Fashion Design

Hannah Lee Boston University, BA Studio Art

Justin Parker University of New Orleans, BS Computer Science, Minor Game Development

Raymond Rollins Art League Houston, Summer Courses


The 2022-2023 scholarship recipients were selected by the following panel of creative and cultural leaders:

Kayla Curley is a multidisciplinary graphic designer and artist from New Orleans, LA. At the beginning of 2021, she created a series called Sensory Conversations, which was based on her synesthesia. The in-person installation was her first show and opened in February. It allowed those who interacted to understand the ways in which music and color can rely on one another. She currently does freelance design work and has worked on a recent project for Nike, called Come Thru, which premiered March 31, 2021. Kayla received her BA of Design from Loyola University of New Orleans in 2020.

Desiree Packard moved to New Orleans in May of 2005 to pursue a career in finance. During this time, she began to volunteer as a reading tutor for a local nonprofit. This profound experience influenced her decision to leave the private sector and to make a commitment to serving children and families. She managed after school programs for New Orleans public schools and moved on to overseeing a multi-agency behavioral health enrichment program serving students in alternative and non-traditional schools in Orleans, Plaquemines, and St. Bernard Parishes for over seven years prior working at Tulane University as the Executive Director of Strategic Summer Programs. Desirée has been a volunteer grant reviewer for the Louisiana Children’s Trust Fund and the Arts Council of New Orleans and is an active member of the Junior League of New Orleans. She also serves as a board member for Young Aspirations Young Artists. She holds an undergraduate degree in Economics from the University of Alabama and a Master of Public Administration from the University of New Orleans.

Corey Pemberton (American b. Reston, VA 1990) received his BFA from Virginia Commonwealth University in 2012. He has completed residencies at The Pittsburgh Glass Center (PA), Bruket (Bodø, NO), as well as a Core Fellowship at the Penland School of Crafts (NC). He currently resides in Los Angeles, California where he splits his time between Crafting the Future, production glass blowing, and his painting practice. Pemberton strives to bring together people of all backgrounds and identities, breaking down stereotypes and building bridges; not only through his work with Crafting The Future but with his personal artistic practice as well.

Darryl White is a visual creative driving design direction on multiple verticals. He has spearheaded projects in graphic design & production, consumer packaging, print collateral, logo and identity development, social media graphics, digital assets, and graphic apparel. Whitelight Media is his creative space for showcasing his work and passions. Located in Metro Atlanta, and educated at The Savannah College of Art & Design and Xavier University, his life as a creative began in New Orleans as a member of a local arts organization named YAYA. His passion and zest for design is grounded with the heart, soul and flavor of New Orleans.


bottom of page